STATE OF NEW JERSEY DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES DIVISION OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE AND HEALTH SERVICES

LONG TERM RESIDENTIAL SUBSTANCE ABUSE SERVICES RATES

TAKE NOTICE the New Jersey Department of Human Services (DHS), Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services (DMAHS), intends to seek approval from the United States Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), for amendments to the New Jersey Medicaid (Title XIX) State Plan in order to reflect that New Jersey Medicaid fee-for-service rates for Long Term Residential (LTR) substance abuse services were updated as follows.

Contingent on CMS approval, New Jersey intends to increase the base reimbursement for LTR substance abuse services. In addition, the State intends to provide two possible bonus payments in addition to the base rate. Specifically, those providers who are licensed to provide Medication Assisted Treatment (MAT) shall receive an additional payment of \$5 per beneficiary per day. Those who provide, or arrange for the provision of, MAT for at least 40% of the LTR facility's beneficiaries in total during the previous six months (three months for the first two determinations) shall have an additional \$10 added to their rate. The fee schedule will be published on the Department's fiscal agent's website at https://www.njmmis.com under "rate and code information" when available.

With the anticipated extension of SFY2020 to September 30, 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the expected costs of this amendment are as follows: SFY2020 (6/1/2020 through 9/30/2020): \$1.893M (\$0.678M state; \$1.215M federal), SFY2021 (10/1/2020 through 6/30/2021): \$4.454M (\$1.559M state; \$2.895M federal)

This Notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of Federal law and regulations, specifically 42 C.F.R. 440.386, 42 CFR 447.205, and 42 U.S.C. 1396a(a)(13). A copy of this Notice is available for public review at the Medical Assistance Customer Centers, County Welfare Agencies, and the Department's website at:

http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/providers/grants/public/index.html.

Comments or inquiries must be submitted in writing within 30 days of the date of this notice to:

Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services Office of Legal & Regulatory Affairs Attention: Margaret Rose P.O. Box 712, Mail Code #26 Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0712 Fax: 609-588-7343 E-mail: <u>Margaret.Rose@dhs.state.nj.us</u>